Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Overwrite name and color

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Overwrite name and color

    We use the
    Environment name:
    Default Background color:
    to differentiate between our DEV, TEST, and PROD environments.

    The problem is that when I do a code update from one tier to the next,
    mirth overwrites this info and I have to remember to manually
    go in and set the name and color again.

    Is this going to be fixed in the next release?

    Mirth Connect Server 3.8.0
    Built on May 22, 2019
    Java version: 1.8.0_181
    Last edited by StickyBandit; 10-15-2019, 02:07 PM.

  • #2
    What does this mean "when I do a code update from one tier to the next"?


    In our environment, the "Default Background Color" is configured for each environment in the server settings. When we update the channel code, this has no impact on these settings.
    Best,

    Kirby

    Mirth Certified|Epic Bridges Certified|Cloverleaf Level 2 Certified

    Appliance Version 3.11.4
    Mirth Connect Version 3.8.0
    Java Version 1.6.0_45-b06
    Java (64 bit) Version 1.6.0_45-b06
    Java 7 (64 bit) Version 1.7.0_151-b15
    Java 8 (64 bit) Version 1.8.0_181-b13
    PostgreSQL Version 9.6.8

    Comment


    • #3
      As Kirby alluded to, your code update process is likely causing the settings to be overwritten. The Environment Name and Default Background Color are saved when you back up your server configuration, so if you are backing up the server config on DEV, and then restoring that config on TEST, you will lose the original settings from TEST.

      If you aren't doing that, another consideration is that the Environment Name and Default Background Color are stored in the "configuration" table in the Mirth database. So if your code update process is touching that table, that could be why your settings are overwritten.

      Comment


      • #4
        Yes. that is exactly what I said...

        Code update process is causing the settings to be overwritten. The Environment Name and Default Background Color are saved when we back up your server configuration to a file, and then loading that file into the next tier.
        This is how we have update/promoted code for years.

        Backing up the server config on DEV, and then restoring that config on TEST, then later from TEST to PROD. We lose the original settings.

        The Environment Name and Default Background Color should be implementation specific and not overwritten, just like the configuration map.

        This is the bug in Mirth Connect.
        Last edited by StickyBandit; 01-08-2020, 10:00 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          Any news on this issue?

          Comment

          Working...
          X